Wetangula Recalls MPs for Special Sitting; Here's Why


  • National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula has recalled parliament for a special sitting to be held on Thursday, December 8, 2022.

    Parliament went on recess on December 2, 2022, to resume on February 14, 2023 but have now been recalled to transact crucial business of the House.

    In a notice published in the dailies on Monday, December 5, Wetangula stated that he had received request to hold a special sitting.

    “I have received and acceded to a request from the Leader of the Majority Party to hold special sittings of the National Assembly,” the speaker announced in a special notice.

    NA Majority Leader Kimani Ichungwa on November 22, 2022
    National Assembly leader of the majority Kimani Ichung’wah on November 22, 2022

    On top of the agenda will be tabling of a report by the Departmental Committee on Finance and National Planning.

    The committee had vetted nominees for appointment to the position of Members of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA).

    Kenya Kwanza Alliance had nominated Benedict Muasya Mutiso, Jonas Vincent Kuko, Isabel Nyambura Waiyaki, and Hadija Nganyi Juma.

    Azimio Coalition on their part nominated Wilfred Koitamet Olekina Nchoshoi, George Jalang’o Midiwo, and Fatuma  Gedi.

    “After tabling of the report, there will be notification of Special Motion regarding the approval of nominees for the appointment to the position of members of CRA,” Wetangula notified members of parliament and general public.

    Another key agenda of the day will be approval of nominees to various National Government Constituency Development Fund (NGCDF) Committee.

    Parliament before discussing the aforementioned appointments will receive any urgent messages from the national executive and senate.

    The NA will also have its first reading of The Statute Law (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill, 2022.


    Members of the 13th Parliament during President William Ruto's inaugural speech on September 29, 2022..jpg
    Members of the 13th Parliament during President William Ruto’s inaugural speech on September 29, 2022.
    The National Assembly
  • Source: kENYANS.CO.KE


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.