Uhuru Takes Over Leadership of Regional Body

President Uhuru Kenyatta
  • President Uhuru Kenyatta was on Saturday, February 27 elected as the East Africa Community (EAC) chairperson .

    The president was picked to lead the regional body during the virtual 21st ordinary summit of the East African Community Heads of State that was held today, Saturday, February 27.

    Bururndi’s President Evariste Ndayishimiye was chosen as the EAC rapporteur.

    President Uhuru Kenyatta

    Kenyatta will take over the EAC chairmanship from President Paul Kagame of Rwanda. The seat is usually held on a rotational basis between the member countries. 

    During the summit, Dr. Peter Mutuku Mathuki was appointed as the new Secretary-General of the community for a five-year non-renewable term.

    Mutuku’s tenure will take effect on April 25.

    The agenda of the meeting was giving a progress report of the EAC ministers for the period of 2019 to 2020, giving a progress report on the verification exercise for the admission of the FR of Somalia into the EAC and the appointment of the new Secretary-General and judges to the East African Court of Justice.

    The EAC is an organization composed of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

    The organization was founded in 1967 and it collapsed in 1977 due to disagreements between member states. The organization was later on revived on July 7, 2000.

    In 2008, the EAC agreed to expand its free trade area to cater to member countries of South African Development Community(SADC) and Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa(COMESA). This was agreed on after the EAC negotiated with the two regional blocs. 

    President Uhuru Kenyatta speaking at State House on February 18, 2021.
    President Uhuru Kenyatta speaking at State House on February 18, 2021.

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.