Oscar Sudi Blames Ruto Over Senate Drama

  • Kapseret Member of Parliament Oscar Sudi has blamed Deputy President William Ruto for the ongoing Senate woes which saw three Senators Cleophas Malala (Kakamega), Christopher Langat (Bomet) and Steve Lelegwe (Samburu) arrested ahead of the revenue sharing debate.

    On Monday, August 17, Sudi accused Ruto of leading his troops into campaigning and voting for President Uhuru Kenyatta whose government was reportedly on a witchhunt against Senators opposed to the government’s formula. 

    “I regret voting for Uhuru Kenyatta. I didn’t know his true colours. But I blame William Ruto because he convinced some of us that Uhuru was his true friend. Anyway, May God protect Kenyans,” Sudi stated through his social media pages.

    Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala (in blue) resists arrest at his home in Kitengela, Nairobi, on August 17, 2020.

    The DP has remained silent on the new twists in the Senate drama, which saw legislators adjourn the revenue formula discussion for the ninth time on Monday, August 17.

    Earlier on, he had urged Senators to find the best revenue sharing formula to solve the stalemate. 

    However, Senate Majority Chief Whip Irungu Kang’ata alleged that the leaders fighting the revenue allocation formula were allied to Ruto and that the DP was using them to fight the President. 

    “Some counties in the Rift Valley who are the biggest beneficiaries of the revenue formula, their senators are opposing it despite the fact that they are gaining millions.  They are from a region of a certain politician. Despite being the biggest gainers, they are no longer supporting the new formula. Somebody may have called them,” Kang’ata stated on Monday, August 17. 

    Senators formed a 12-member committee to create a revenue formula after they failed to agree for the ninth time. 

    Nairobi Senator Johnson Skaja will co-chair the committee together with his Bungoma colleague Moses Wetangula.

    Other Senators who form part of the committee are Senators Mutula Kilonzo Jnr (Makueni), Mahamud Mohamed (Mandera), Steward Madzayo (Kilifi), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Anwar Oleitiptip (Lamu), Ledama Ole Kina (Narok) and John Kinyua (Laikipia).

    An image of DP Ruto
    Deputy President William Ruto speaking in a meeting with Kisii leaders on Thursday 23 July 2020.

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.