ODM Loses Msambweni to Ruto’s Candidate

  • Independent candidate Feisal Bader was declared the winner of the Msambeni Parliamentary seat by the Independent Boundaries and Electoral Commission (IEBC) on Wednesday morning, December 16.

    Bader garnered 15251 votes, beating ODM’s Omar Boga who came second with 10,444 votes. 

    IEBC Returning Officer Yusuf Abubakar issued Feisal with a certificate to ascertain the win amid cheers and ululation from DP Ruto allies. 

    “I declare Feisal Abder as the winner and the elected MP for Msambweni Constituency,” Abubakar stated. 

    Feisal Bader (in yellow) with Nominated Senator Millicent Omanga (second left) at a Msambweni, Kwale polling station on Tuesday, December 15, 2020

    The independent candidate led throughout the night since IEBC started tallying the votes from the 129 polling stations in the constituency. Feisal succeeded his uncle, Suleiman Dori who passed away on Monday, March 9.

    On Tuesday, December 15, the election was marred by mild violence and claims of voter bribery. Former Machakos Senator Johnstone Muthama was arrested in the melee as Lungalunga MP Abdalla Mwashetani narrowly escaped. 

    Ruto’s ally and politician Mohammed Tenge was captured on camera slapping a civilian believed to be an ODM supporter in Msambweni constituency.

    The win is a boost for DP Ruto and his allies who went against the wish of the party Jubilee and supported a candidate for the election in an area perceived to be an ODM stronghold. 

    Jubilee declined to field a candidate owing to the handshake between ODM leader Raila Odinga and President Uhuru Kenyatta. ODM’s Boga was also viewed as a handshake candidate after Kenyatta also supported his aspirations

    In Kisumu North, ODM party clinched the ward seat after its candidate Dede Samuel Otieno garnered 4566 votes from 30 polling stations in a by-election also held on Tuesday, December 15.

    Independent candidate Odero Daniel Osala came second with 1,212, followed by Hannington Ago of the Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG) who got 835 votes.

    An image of Omar Boga
    President Uhuru Kenyatta (left), Omar Boga (middle), Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho (left) conversing at Liwantoni, Mombasa on Thursday, December 10.

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.