Five Approved For TSC Commissioner Jobs

Lawmakers seated in Parliament
  • The National Assembly has approved the appointment of five nominees as members of the Teacher Service Commission (TSC).

    Parliament’s Department Committee on Education and Research tabled its report after vetting the nominees before parliament on Wednesday, September 1.

    The five nominees include Nicodemus Ojuma Anyang, Christine Kahindi, Sharon Jelagat, Annceta Wafukho and Salesa Adano Abudi.

    Lawmakers seated in Parliament.

    Parliament debated the report after which it approved the appointment of the five commissioners of TSC.

    The August House approved the names of the five pursuant to Article 250 (2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 8 (8) of the TSC Act, 2012 and 8 of the Public Appointments Act, 2011.

    The five nominees will officially be appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta before they are sworn in. Newly appointed commissioners will be hired on contract and will serve a non-renewable six-year term.

    TSC had received 299 applications after they advertised the vacancies. The TSC selection panel selected 35 then shortlisted 12 individuals whose names were submitted to the president.
    President Kenyatta then nominated five names to the Department Committee on Education and Research for vetting. Majority Leader Amos Kimunya observed that the five represented the diversity in terms of age, gender and demographics.

    He lauded the nomination of the five, terming them qualified and a lot that would not superintend the commission as they had received adequate education.

    “Today, I am very happy, and I really want to commend the panel that recommended these names to the president so that he is not stray-jacked into choosing from a group that was not fitting,” Kimunya stated.
    Kimunya recognised Annceta Wafukho, a former member of parliament, for her nomination. The two worked together in the Education Committee.

    Parliament also approved the appointment of four nominees as commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC). Juliana Whonge Cherera, Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit, and Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya were nominated by the president for vetting by the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee.

    Teachers Service Commission (TSC) offices
    Teachers Service Commission (TSC) offices